The Children of Green Knowe

One Christmas when I was a child, I remember watching a TV programme set in a beautiful country house (makes so much sense now, lol), with ghost children and a scary moving statue of St. Christopher.

I never managed to see the end, which made me sad for many years, especially as I never knew the name of the story.

I later found out it was called The Children of Green Knowe, one of a series of books by Lucy M. Boston.  You can find now, luckily for me a copy of the original programme posted here (in parts).  Interestingly, since I re-discovered it, a film has been made of the sequel The Chimneys of Green Knowe starring Maggie Smith, which is known as From Time to Time.  I watched this on TV over Christmas (coincidence, again).  It has some charm,  – and was filmed at Athelhampton House –  though I still love the 80s show best!

Here are the books in order:

  • The Children of Green Knowe (1954)
  • The Chimneys of Green Knowe (1958)
  • The River at Green Knowe (1959)
  • A Stranger at Green Knowe (1961)
  • An Enemy at Green Knowe (1964)
  • The Stones of Green Knowe (1976)

I am now collecting the stories for myself!  Also, Lucy Boston lived at The Manor, Hemingford Grey.  You can understand where she got the ideas for such wonderful stories.  One day I would love to see it.